RUN

Please don’t try to hide it
you can’t hide it anymore
I know what you’re going through
I’ve lived your life before
seen those marks a hundred times
so yeah, I know the score
Girl, I want to help you
cause that’s what good friends are for

Maybe you can change him?
Well, I guess that much is true
but Honey, you can’t change him
like the way he’s changing you!

Don’t give me excuses
don’t you think I know the signs
don’t you think I know you stay
and pray for those good times

Hey, you don’t have to listen
to a word I have to say
maybe I should find the strength
to look the other way
maybe if I didn’t care
when all was said and done
you’d be on your own my friend
with nowhere left to run!images-20

….

2 thoughts on “RUN

  1. I recall your raising this appalling topic in another poem Claudie – it seems that you can’t ‘find the strength to look the other way’ on this issue and I applaud you for continuing to put it out there. Sharp, succinct poetry – nicely done.

Leave a Reply

