Breathe

I’m not ready for long phone calls
Or a late night booty call
I’m not into fresh cut roses
Being sent to my front door

I might send you a shy email
With a love heart and a kiss
But don’t smother me with all your plans
I’m just not prepared for this

See I need to get my bearings
Think it through and let it sit
If I’m rushed, I’ll likely dissappear
I take time to commit

Cos I need lots of room to breathe
Love can burn out all too soon
Its a fragile web we weave
If it’s real, our love will bloom

You said ‘please don’t get excited’
In a teasing sorta way
Babe, Deep down I’m so delighted
That you’re loving me today

I may bravely hold your hand in mine
And secrets I’ll reveal
You know that if we take our time
We’ll make it that more real

I need lots of room to breathe
Love can clutter up the mind
It can tell you to believe
In a fantasy that’s blind

Leave a Reply

