Wishing You Were Here

I saw you there in Venice
felt the romance in the air
I saw you feeding pigeons
Strolling through San Marcos Square

In London you went walking
And I passed you in Hyde Park
In Amsterdam I met you
In a cafe after dark

I feel your eyes upon me
And I wonder where you are
Looking down from heaven
are you just another star

When I turn another corner
Will you all but disappear
Drowning in my loneliness
Wishing you were here

I woke in Monte Carlo
In a palace by the sea
Roaming through the marketplace
I saw you on the quay

Portugal was lovely
With summer on its way
I looked for you in Lisbon
Thought about you every day

In Spain a Senorita
was dancing to guitar
While I drowned away my sorrows
In a flask of sangria

I missed you in Gibraltor
But you showed up in Algiers
And when it came to leaving
You were holding back the years

I feel your eyes upon me
and I wonder
where you are
Looking down from heaven
are you just another star

When I turn another corner
Will you all but disappear
Drowning in my loneliness
Wishing you were here

Leave a Reply

