i hope that time doesn’t catch us

Image

Cockroaches in the hall
cheap lino on the floor
a dirty sink full of dishes

people just come and go
some we don’t even know
this is a crib full of drifters

Sweet music plays all night
we rock by candlelight
and love without expectation

we live for freedom yeah
too young to really care
about the world’s complications

You light my cigarette
it’s getting cold…I’m wet
this winter’s dragged on for too long

your pocket’s warm my hands
we do a little dance

let’s go lay down on your futon

then we’ll watch rage all night
under your disco light
I might curl up on your mattress

you play your air guitar
dream big my little star
I hope that time doesn’t catch us

I hope that time doesn’t catch us

You’re smarter than our peers
I’m wiser than my years
our world is brighter in darkness

my clothes are inside out
ain’t that what life’s about
it’s upside down, it’s a hard test

Out there we’re underpaid
unsure not unafraid
there’s nothing here that attracts us

while they chase dollar signs
we love with open minds
I hope that time doesn’t catch us

I hope that time doesn’t catch us

5 thoughts on “i hope that time doesn’t catch us

  1. “I hope that time doesn’t catch us”

    Great repeating for emphasis—- Unfortunately, as we grow older, we grow slower and time gets faster, it our master… 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: The First Cup Award | Eric M. Vogt: Life-Writings

Leave a Reply

