Shark eyes

Shark eyes

I guess that I attract her with my easy Aussie smile
or maybe I distract her from her lifestyle for a while
I know she’s been his answer… and her families’ sacrifice
but looking in her eyes, I feel she’s really paid the price

‘She never gets excited’ her husband says to me
‘In fact she’s very private..quiet..never been carefree..’
‘A funny sort of girl’ he ends with some apology
I nod and like him play pretend
but he knows what I see

An Asian wife, an Aussie man, a simplified transaction
and everything just went to plan?
well not by her reaction
I’ve never seen a sadder face and I’ve lived many lives
her spirit had to be erased and now she’s got shark eyes

4 thoughts on “Shark eyes

Leave a Reply

