I couldn’t afford you

I only embarrassed myself
with my sketches
and jars on my shelf
you were kind to be cool
didn’t call me a fool
but your eyes gave away something else

I couldn’t afford you
you know I adored you
but I can’t afford all the pain
I couldn’t be more true
but that wouldn’t hold you
I couldn’t pretend we’re the same

I only desired a kiss
a piece of your smile..to miss
You didn’t move closer
I felt like a failure
I’m glad now I didn’t insist

I couldn’t afford you
I’d like to applaud you
for smoothly extracting yourself
your smile was distant
and slightly resistant
your eyes gave away something else

Like a rainbow that’s fading away
perhaps you’ll come back here one day
when dreams let you down
you’ll come back to this town
but I won’t be looking your way

6 thoughts on “I couldn’t afford you

Leave a Reply

